Camden Engine 3
Engine Company 3 was organized and entered service on June 1, 1890. After 96 years of faithful service to the Camden community, the firehouse was vacated in 1986 due to structural defects. It was later pressed into use to house apartments, but was left vacant by the early 2000's and fell into serious disrepair. For a detailed and fascinating history of Engine 3 during its life as a firehouse, go to www.dvrbs.com/fire/CamdenNJ-FireDept-Engine3.htm
A few enterprising neighbors, with the support of Father Michael Doyle of Sacred Heart Church and the Heart of Camden, set their sights on a new life for the grand old brick house, still graceful in spite of her decline: a center for art. When the Heart of Camden acquired the property at 1813 South Broadway, there was a hole in the roof, resulting in extensive damage to the interior of the building, and dirt and debris covering every inch of the place.
A long series of work parties by neighbors and volunteers, beginning in May 2010, gradually cleared the way for a total renovation. The rehabilitation of the building was generously supported by PSE&G and the State of New Jersey under the auspices of the Neighborhood Revitalization Tax Credit Fund. Architect Dave Lummis of Ignarri Lummis volunteered his services to begin putting the dream into a workable form, and the restoration was carried out by the Heart of Camden, under the leadership of Project Managers Chris Haw and Phil Nippins and the guidance of Heart of Camden Director Helene Pierson and her successor, Lisa Kiernan.
Camden FireWorks is incorporated as a New Jersey Nonprofit Corporation and became a tax-exempt 501(c)(3) organization in 2016. FireWorks opened for operations on June 17, 2016.